Whittle Safety Award

IFA established the IFA Whittle Safety Award to honour the global aerospace community's most outstanding achievements in the field of air safety.

The Federation's award provides recognition at an international level.

The award honours the work of Sir Frank Whittle, father of the jet engine.

It can be awarded for a single outstanding contribution or achievement, a major technical innovation, long and valued service, or for work that will further advance the safety of aircraft.

Any member of the IFA can nominate any individual, group or organisation worldwide for the Safety Award. All members have an important and responsible part to play in identifying those deserving special recognition.

The winner is presented with medal and a framed certificate on which is inscribed the winning citation.



Sir Frank Whittle

Sir Frank Whittle was an English aviation engineer and pilot. He is regarded as the father of modern jet propulsion systems and recognised as a co-inventor of the jet engine. The modern turbojet engine used in many aircraft is based on the concept that he invented.

The jet engine has advanced aviation to where it is today and as such IFA was pleased to recognise Sir Frank Whittles contribution to the development of aviation and named their annual Safety Award in his honour.

(photo courtesy of the Royal Aeronautical Society Library)

Application Forms and Information:

Applications must be made on the standard forms, which can be obtained either from the IFA web site at www.ifairworty.org or from the IFA Secretariat at:

IFA Secretariat 14, Railway Approach, East Grinstead West Sussex RH19 1BP UK

Phone: +44 (0) 1342 301788 Fax: +44 (0) 1342 317808

e-mail: sec@ifairworthy.org

For more information contact the Award Administrator:

Mr Ron Yates A M 31 Fox Street Lane Cove NSW 2066 AUSTRALIA

Phone: +61 2 9427 5010 Fax: +61 2 9418 8661

e-mail: ryates@comcen.com.au

Closing Date:

Applications should be made by 1st July each year, selection is made in September and the Award formally presented in November.

IFA Whittle Safety Award Recipients

1. In 1998 to Ahmad Abdulla Al-Zabin, Deputy Director General (Engineering Affairs), Kuwait Airways Corporation

In recognition of his personal contributions to the development of air safety in Kuwait Airways and to the rebuilding of the airline after the invasion of Kuwait in 1990.

2. In 1999 to Helen Muir, OBE, MA, PhD, Cpsychol, AFBPS, FRAeS Professor of Aerospace Psychology and Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Cranfield University, UK

In recognition of her contribution to improved airline cabin safety through the application of human factors in the field of passenger behaviour in emergencies.

3. In 2000 to the "Maintenance Error Decision Aid" (MEDA) Team of the Boeing Airplane Company

In recognition of their development and implementation of a structured investigation process to determine the cause of maintenance errors in airline operations and develop corrective actions to avoid them.

4. In 2001 to the Airbus International Airworthiness & Safety Cooperation Team

In recognition of their contribution to the enhancement of civil aviation global safety through proactive assessment, development and implementation of assistance programs, creation of regional aviation safety oversight organisations and cooperation with ICAO.

5. In 2002 to Yves Morier, Regulation Director of JAA

In recognition of his leadership in the evolution of the European aviation safety regulations, the JAR's, and his major contribution in the harmonization of the European and North American Certification standards and processes.

6. In 2003 to Michael Arthur Spencer, Bsc FREng – Technical and Quality Director, Rolls-Royce plc

In recognition of his personal contribution to the safe design and in-service management of civil aero engines over the last 25 years.